This Article is About
dream caster
dystopian novel
adult fantasy
awesome books
romantic side
schoolmate
antagonist
Some Books Like Divergent
Join 1000's of Authors at StreetArticles Today!

Some Books Like Divergent

Many readers have been hooked on young adult books. Mainly, of the dystopian books variety. Many people have blamed it on awesome books like divergent. After devouring the trilogy in less than one week, and very many late nights, many readers normally have one thing on their mind: Where can I get more? I want more books like Divergent!

Below are some picks for fans of the Divergent. You can look for others, but these are some of my favorite recommendations of books like divergent I have read so far.

Dream Caster by Najeev Raj Nadarajah

Book one of the Dream Cycle, is a young adult fantasy. Weaver, the main character orphaned and under the care of a wicked man called Ruben, has only one ambition, to become a guard in the village where he is grown up. In one night, he gets this position and within hours loses everything, his family, home and friends. Forced to move since he is the only survival of a destructive attack of fire hounds, Weaver soon meets a companion who travels with him to a new place. The antagonist soon finds out his true role in life, which is bigger than he had ever imagined. This intriguing, well-written story is the debut of Nadarajah's journey into the author world. The characters are sharply drawn and likable and the overall plot will keep you thinking and wondering what will happen next.

Matched by Ally Condie

This is a young adult dystopian novel series which is more on the light, romantic side rather than full of bleak and dire things. The novel's storyline is very interesting. In this society the authority have the power to decide almost anything related to the life of an individual, including whom they marry.

The main character of this trilogy is called Cassia and she is matched to marry Xander, her neighbor, but she has fallen in love with another man. Her schoolmate, Ky Markham is a rather rebellious guy who should not be with Cassia in the first place. This book like divergent is quite an interesting premise to an interesting young adult novel set in a very strict, rigid future society which does not leave any loophole for anyone who live as they please but rather as they are told to do so.

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner

It is another dystopian series perfect for those readers who are looking for books like Divergent, and the story is about Thomas, who wakes up one day in a lift. Thomas has no recollection of anything except his name. That is all he remembers. When the elevator opens, Thomas gets to The Glades where other kids like him exist, each one of the does not know anything about themselves, except their names. These boys also have the task of surviving, but they have an additional disability of memory loss. One day, the very first girl within The Glades appears with a message for Thomas. If you are looking for books like Divergent then you will enjoy The Maze Runner Series. Do you like dystopian fiction? If yes then you will probably like these books. Just try them out.


Street Talk

No comments present
You May Also Like
Young Adult Fiction - Books for Young Adults
In written or oral literature, telling the tales of young adults is perhaps as old as human history. From prehistoric Greek myths like Chloe and Daphnis to later works of drama, women and men have become the main characters of adventures in their teen days. When Shakespeare told the story…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Aug 19, 2013  
0
  Likes: 0

Divergent Book Review
About to be the next blockbuster, Divergent by Veronica Roth is a fast-paced young adult dystopian novel. Already declared the “next Hunger Games” by popular culture, Roth takes us to a post-apocalyptic Chicago where you follow the story of Beatrice Prior. It is a fast paced storyline that by its…
By: Katie Jacob in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Jul 29, 2013  
0
  Likes: 0

The Clench for Independence
In the novel, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man Stephen, the main character, and his mother depict the relationship between England and Ireland. Leading up to chapter four, Stephen has been discovering himself as a “man”, one way was by going to prostitutes, which he later confesses.…
By: Megan Peters in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Jan 18, 2012  
0
  Likes: 0

The Fifty Shades Phenomenon
If you live on planet Earth, then surely you must have heard of the Fifty Shades Trilogy. Fifty Shades Trilogy is a love story, divided in three novels, all written by E.L James. By the end of July, the Fifty Shades Trilogy had sold 20 million copies in the United…
By: Jo Green in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Aug 19, 2012  
2
  Likes: 5

The Top Rated Audio Books
Some of the top rated audio books are written by Brandon Sanderson. The author Brandon Sanderson has recently come to fame for finishing The Wheel of Time series after Robert Jordan's death. Sanderson is a new author with some incredible talent. He has written many fantasy / fiction novels and…
By: Nox Solaris in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Dec 22, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

50 Shades Trilogy Review
The 50 Shades of Grey novel is the first book in a trilogy of novels by the author E L James. When it was first published online it was originally supposed to be Twilight fan fiction and while James has created an entirely new set of novels the basis is…
By: Alana R in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Aug 02, 2012  
0
  Likes: 0

The Top Fantasy Books Of 2012
Finding good fantasy books can be challenging. With more and more fantasy books coming out all the time, it is important to read a good book review to make sure you will enjoy the book before you decide to buy the book. If you are a fan of fantasy books…
By: Nox Solaris in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Dec 23, 2011  
0
  Likes: 2

Best Fiction Books
The best fiction books are always up for debate but the masses have spoken on many Authors. Here is my take on the what books really do classify as works of the best fiction in the industry. Brandon Sanderson has written some of those most highly prized works ofliteraturethat isavailableon…
By: Nox Solaris in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Nov 19, 2011  
1
  Likes: 1

The Jerusalem Inception, By: Avraham Azrieli
“Gerster, Jerusalem Gerster” doesn’t have quite the ring as, “Bond, James Bond” however as a character in author Avraham Azrieli’s book titled The Jerusalem Inception, James has nothing over Jerusalem with respect to international espionage, romantic exploits and nation building. Set in the time beginning at the end of World…
By: Pacific Book Review in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Sep 29, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

Some Have Said Creator is the Best Read Of their Entire Lives
One of the best books to read for me is Creator. I thought it was hilarious, and it is an intelligent, and eye opening read. It sure pokes fun at the human race, but also offers a way to look at it in a positive light. Creator has everything. It…
By: Michael MorphTactic in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Aug 23, 2011  
0
  Likes: 2

The Romanov Prohecy By Steve Berry Book Review
As a Russian history buff I was intrigued by the title of the book, The Romanov Prophecy. Set in contemporary times after the fall of Communism and the failure of weak governments the Russian people have voted in a referendum to reinstate the monarchy and a new Tsar. The new…
By: Ian Worrall in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   May 23, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

And the Soul Of the Sinner Was Judged
“And while the friends were still standing in tears by the bedside the soul of the sinner was judged” (120). James Joyce writes this as he leads Stephen through a religious crisis in chapter three of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man. Throughout chapter three of this…
By: Erin Yen in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Jan 12, 2012  
1
  Likes: 1

Best Fantasy Books
Many authors claim to have create the best fantasy book in the world but only a few can take even a glimpse into the world of greatness. Many classical novels have made it into the hall of fame but with fantasy becoming one of the most sought after genre in…
By: Nox Solaris in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Nov 22, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

What Are the Ten Top Best Books Really, You Might Be Surprised
The top ten in books might not be what you think. First of all, a lot of people would probably consider the following books the ten top best books: 1. To Kill a Mockingbird 2. 1984 3. Pride and Prejudice 4. The Lord of the Rings 5. The Catcher in…
By: Michael MorphTactic in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   Aug 23, 2011  
0
  Likes: 2

The Metamorphosis By Franz Kafka: A Summary, Analysis And Interpretation
I. Plot/ Summary The story immediately starts with Gregor Samsa, the main character, being found changed into a monstrous vermin. His back became as hard as an armor plate, his belly became brown and arched in ribs, and two legs became thinner which multiplied into several more legs. Of course,…
By: Frances Colleen  in  Book Reviews  >  Fiction   May 13, 2011  
0
  Likes: 10

Article Views: 1583    Report this Article