This Article is About
george rr martin
j k rowling
harry potter series
j r r tolkien
epic fantasy
soap opera
fantasy books
Authors Similar To George RR Martin - Check Them Out
Join 1000's of Authors at StreetArticles Today!

Authors Similar to George RR Martin - Check Them Out

Something that any reader of fantasy should always be on the lookout are good fantasy books. Today there are more fantasy books than ever, but that makes picking a good one from the crowd difficult. A good way of picking is by reading reviews, and if they are comparing book with the one that you liked, there is good chance that you might like that one too. In this article I'm going to mention some authors and their work which I consider similar to my favored author - George RR Martin.

First is father of the genre - J.R.R. Tolkien, and his masterpiece, "The Lord of the Rings". His work set cornerstones on which entire genre was built. For today's reader, maybe he's little too naïve in his portraying of morally flawless characters. But his entire work is based on his overwhelming enthusiasm for telling stories of other worlds and fantastical beings that inhabit it. Every fantasy writer who came after professor Tolkien had to tread in his footsteps in lesser or greater degree. And every reader of epic fantasy must read his work, or cannot consider himself one.

Second I would put Robert Jordan, with the ongoing series "The Wheel of Time". Excellent writer, Jordan started series with intention to write grand epic fantasy story, in quantity as well as quality. Unfortunately, in my (and many other's opinion), he overdid it. Pace of the entire series is too slow, story is too broad, and there are too many characters. Jordan died before he managed to finish the series, but other quality authors stepped in to bring this soap opera among epic fantasy books to an end. Still I recommend reading books in this series, for it is among best epic fantasy stories today.

Another author worth reading is J.K. Rowling and heir's "Harry Potter" series of books. I know, I know, she is considered children's books author. Well, not quite - while first books in the series were undoubtedly meant for children, as series closed to finish, writing began addressing more mature subjects and audience. Rowling is great storyteller, and I consider that to be reason enough not to discard her in advance. Try reading some of the books in the series (or at least last four) and you might be pleasantly surprised.

Talking about surprises, another series worth checking might be "Inheritance Cycle" by Christopher Paolini. To be completely honest, I only read first book of the series - "Eragon", and was not impressed. However, many of my friends that read and discuss epic fantasy with me claim that I'm too harsh judge, and that series is definitely worth a look. So I'm giving it benefit of a doubt here. Intending to read through entire series, so go ahead and read it, might be worth the effort.

Believe it or not beside this there are really no books in the same league with those mentioned here, at least if you are serious epic fantasy reader. I'm giving honorable mention to Glen Cook and his "The Black Company" series of books, and also Trudi Canavan and heir's "The Black Magician" trilogy. I would mention Maria Semenova and heir's "Volkodav" series of books, as an example that excellent epic fantasy may be found outside English language writing area, so if you can find some copies of these books, don't miss them.

It may seem that there are too few authors and works mentioned here. But they all wrote series of many paged books, so if one is to read all books mentioned here, it might took him more than year! More than that, other work from these authors are worth checking out too, so one might be reading long enough for George RR Martin to be able to finish his next book, and than we are all in for a treat!


Street Talk

No comments present
You May Also Like
A Game Of Thrones By George Rr Martin - My Review
It is hard for me to write about this book, because there is no way that I can be objective. Been reading and loving fantasy ever since my childhood, and this is probably one of the best epic fantasy book there is. Right in the same league with The Lord…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 28, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

George RR Martin Anthology Wild Cards Movie?
Here we have some hot news. After success of "Game of Thrones" on HBO, Martins largest project "Wild Cards" is optioned for filming by SyFy Films, a theatrical division of NBC Universal. Obviously, after initial success of his first television project, there is good chance that other of his work…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 29, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

A Clash Of Kings By George Rr Martin - My Review
Second book in George RR Martin's epic fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire, is a worthy sequel to A Game of Thrones, one of the best epic fantasy books ever written. It continues events started in first book, adds new characters to the ones we already know, settles…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 31, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

George RR Martin Characters - Why Are they so Lifelike?
Have read many books by now, and can say that one thing that decides which book will I like is how much can I identify with characters in it. Sometimes deciding thing is some feature in characters which I can recognize and identify with, sometimes it's simply lovability of character,…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 28, 2011  
0
  Likes: 2

A Feast for Crows By George Rr Martin - My Review
Again we return to the lands of Westeros, where War of the Five Kings is nearing it's end. Return to this land full of intrigue, struggle for power, lust and treachery, where twists and turns of faith keep everyone on their toes, is like coming back to old lover -…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 02, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

The Art Of George RR Martin
In the days long past, storytelling was considered to be one of the blessings handed down to the unworthy by the Gods mighty hand. Story told by the skillful storyteller allowed people in those hard days to, at least for the moment, escape reality and experience something hard to come…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 28, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

Guide to A Game Of Thrones, George Rr Martin And Asoiaf
DON'T PANIC! Those large soothing letters should allow you to bear with me trough the rest of this article. For a while now I'm writing about George RR Martin and his work, it is the topic for me, and I like writing about it. Lots of things related to George…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 07, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

A Dance With Dragons By George Rr Martin - My Review
A Long awaited fifth book in the A Song of Ice and Fire universe. Its timeline is set parallel with A Feast for Crows, for the bigger part of the book. And many of favored make their return as POV characters. Being No#1 at New York Times bestseller list after…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 03, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

When The Winds Of Winter Will Start to Blow?
One of the frequently asked questions by all of George RR Martin fans is when the next book in the series is going to be done? I'm going to try and make an assumption, and discuss a little about what The Winds are blowing our way.What we know so far…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 11, 2011  
0
  Likes: 3

A Storm Of Swords By George Rr Martin - My Review
After great job with A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings, Martin continues in the same manner in his third book in A Song of Ice and Fire series of epic fantasy books. Events are unfolding with tremendous momentum, and characters are struggling to keep with up as…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 01, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

A Game Of Thrones for Beginners - Step By Step
A Game of Thrones: After great success of Game of Thrones series by HBO, many people took interest in the book on which series was based. If you are one of those who wants to find more about this book, it's author, or some general information about other stuff related…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 04, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

George RR Martins Dragons!
No work of Epic Fantasy is complete without beloved fire-spitting lizards! Many of creatures depicted in fantasy count their roots in popular folklore tales, legends or myths. There are Elves, Dwarves, Trolls… all sort of strange menagerie, but they, in modern day readers imagination, differ greatly from the form they…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Nov 06, 2011  
0
  Likes: 1

Incoming Games Based on Book A Game Of Thrones
A little head start for all those interested in knowing everything that is going to be released in the field of video gaming and is connected to "A Game of Thrones".After finishing work in the RTS game A Game of Thrones - Genesis, Cyanide is turning to developing of RPG…
By:  in  Gaming   Nov 09, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

A Game Of Thrones on Hbo
Now this is something worth writing about, my favored book from my favored series producer. When first heard that George RR Martin is negotiating about filming series based on his book A Game of Thrones, I was both thrilled, and scared. Many good books failed in adaptation to different media…
By:  in  Book Reviews  >  SciFi Fantasy Horror   Oct 28, 2011  
0
  Likes: 0

The Truth And Nothing But the Truth – J K Rowling's The Casual Vacancy
“Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” - starts Leo Tolstoy his best-known novel revolving around the life, passions and disappointments of Anna Karenina. This quote could be the motto of The Casual Vacancy, J. K. Rowling's first book after the mega-seller Harry…
By: Jasmine Mayfair in  Book Reviews   Jan 04, 2013  
0
  Likes: 0

Article Views: 3906    Report this Article